Governor Abbott Establishes Statewide Face Covering Requirement - Click here to view the Governor's Executive Order  

Mayor Toby Powell’s Weekly COVID-19 Updates -  Click Here  Mayor Powell is actively monitoring the COVID-19 pandemic to protect the health and safety of residents, visitors and city employees.

Coronavirus Resources & Updates for Citizens – Click Here

Coronavirus Resources & Updates for Businesses – Click Here

300 W. Davis, Conroe
Conroe, Texas 77301

Business Hours
Monday- Thursday 7:30am-5:30pm
Friday 8am-5pm

Phone: 936.522.3100

Planning Commission (PC)

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Responsibilities - The Planning Commission acts as an advisory board to the City Council on land development matters. The Planning Commission shall hold public hearings as required by law and make recommendations to the City Council on all matters concerning or relating to development within the City as provided in Division 2.Sec.94051 of the City Code of Conroe.

Meetings - The Planning Commission meets at 9:30 a.m. on the first and third Thursdays of each month in the City of Conroe's Council Chambers at 300 W. Davis Street. The presence of four (4) members is necessary to constitute a quorum. The affirmative vote of a majority of the members present is required for any action of the Planning Commission. All applications must be submitted

Submissions - All applications for preliminary or final plat approval must be submitted upon or before the scheduled submission date for the meeting at which the application is to be considered. The applicant must include the plat and all documents required for approval. The scheduled submission date for each regular meeting of the Planning Commission shall be ten days prior to the date of the meeting. If the scheduled submission date falls upon a weekend or legal holiday, then deadline for submission shall be extended to the next following regular business day. Each application for preliminary or final plat approval, which is submitted upon a date other than a scheduled submission date, will be submitted upon the next following scheduled submission date. The director shall then place the application upon the agenda of the next regular meeting date, which follows such submission date. Timely submission is strictly enforced.

Membership - The Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. Each member must be a qualified voter of the City, and each shall serve a three (3) year term commencing on June 1 and expiring on May 31 of the third year following. Such appointments are staggered so that three members are appointed every third year, with two members appointed in each of the following two years.


Appointment Date

Term Expires

Chairman Chris Baughman

August 2016

May 31, 2022

Vice Chairman Fred Greer

September 2013

May 31, 2023

Jim Arnold

June 1999

May 31, 2023

Dr. Bob Rabuck, D.D.S.

September 2000

May 31, 2021

Chris Caywood

May 2001

May 31, 2021

Steve Hailey

January 2012

May 31, 2021

Curt Maddux

July 2017

May 31, 2022